Australian Property Updates

Property Information & Real Estate Updates

Major Inner-Sydney Development Committee to change

The NSW  Minister for Planning has announced that Central Sydney Planning Committee (CSPC) will be changed. The CSP  responsible for decision-making on large development proposals in the City of Sydney local government area, will be reviewed. Minister for Planning, Tony Kelly, said the CSPC has been in operation for 22 years.

“It’s now timely to review how it is working and receive advice as to whether it remains the best model for Australia’s only global city,” the Minister said.

“There have been great changes to the planning system over the last 10 years including the introduction of Regional Panels and the new plan making provisions last year, as well as the new assessment regime for major projects brought in during 2005.

“In light of these changes now is an appropriate time to review the role of the CSPC.”  The Central Planning Committee was established in 1988 and operates under the City of Sydney Act.

The membership of the CSPC is limited to 7, of which:

  • 1 is the Lord Mayor and the chair person;
  • 2 members are Councillors of the City of Sydney;
  • 2 members appointed by the State who are to be senior NSW Government employees, of which one must be either the Director-General or a senior executive officer of the Department of Planning;
  • 2 members appointed by the State who are not employed by the Government.


Leave a Reply